7 Couch Potatoes of New Media

This Blog is Mashing Good Fun!!!

SHAZ-AMAZING!

with 4 comments

I was so tripped out the first time I tried the Shazam application. To me it was like a next level application for my iPhone. I’ve never seen a mobile phone application that amazed me so much. Shazam is an application that identifies the title and the artist of a song being played by “listening” to it. Wikipedia explained to me how it all works. Basically, the app “listens” to the music track through the phone’s built in microphone. This process records the acoustic fingerprint of the song and matches with its recorded database. Again, I repeat, I’ve never seen an amazing app such as this. How often do you hear a random track on the radio that you like and then never know what it is? Or  perhaps a soundtrack of a commercial or a movie? This app just helps you with all of that. I’ve experienced that numerous times and Shazam is that awesome buddy you can always ask for song titles. And it gets better, not only does it give you the name of the artist and title of the track, it also gives you links to the artist’s website, gives you information about them and gives you a couple of links to more of their music. Which makes it a perfect guide if you’re music searching. I’ve learned a lot about good bands and artists that I’ve never even known until this application. There is one downside though, its not as updated. I’ve encountered errors a couple of times as it could not identify the song I was trying to learn about. Its kind of a downer as you’re at that moment getting all excited to get some results but it can’t really read it. Over all its a pretty damn hell of a good app! I still find my self running to my phone, grabbing it, turning the app on, and have it listen to my radio!

Written by kylleses

January 18, 2011 at 5:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I heard of this before! My brother has it on his phone and he plays around with it all the time. Pretty neat app I say.

    jprocee

    January 19, 2011 at 1:28 pm

  2. I loved reading this review, you choice of word were very profound HAHA!I agree 100% with you I remember watching it on the television commercial and the next day seeing it at work. How Amazed I was!! The information is great and for the most part it is pretty accurate!

    Can you think of any other concepts that can use this technology in order to find something or even someone.

    Evin Lachance

    January 19, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  3. i love this app! oh and i have an another app as same as this app, called [soundhound]. try it out!

    Meerie Park

    January 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  4. Is it free?

    Navdeep Sahota

    January 20, 2011 at 1:43 am


Leave a Reply

