7 Couch Potatoes of New Media

This Blog is Mashing Good Fun!!!

RAMSS

with 5 comments

The RAMSS is an online system used by Ryerson University students to basically manage their whole university life. It gives students the convenience of being able to enroll in courses, organize their schedules and manage their progress anywhere through the Internet. It truly is helpful to be able to do all these fast as each student race for available slots. The ability select or change a class at the moment of thinking of it helps a busy university student get through. Accessibility wise it is very good, however there are certain downtimes dedicated to improving the system. This is quite necessary and the times are set on peak hours anyway so it shouldn’t be that much of an issue.
Moving on, the navigational structure of the site is fairly decent. It is very plain yet straight to the point. When browsing through classes, information on each course is shown. It takes away the hassle of pulling out a thick book of course programs and looking for information on a class page per page. In the RAMSS, with a click of a button, all the information you need is presented to you. And with another click, you are confirmed into the class. The system doesn’t just organize schedules, it also helps you monitor your progress. A section shows you how much you have accomplished and how much more you have to do.

Based on my experience, I believe that the efficiency of the system is quite low. Before the winter semester started, I organized my schedule, waiting for enrolment day to officially get in a class. I had saved the classes I wanted to get into in my shopping cart, insuring me a slot. However, the system had encountered a problem and all the classes in my shopping cart was deleted, therefore taking away my slot for all those classes. By the time I realized this, I could no longer retrieve my slots, as all the classes were full. This unfortunate incident affected my schedule and plans for the whole semester. The system should be efficient because the academic progress and planning of students depend on it. It is very frustrating to have an event as such happen to you.

Written by kylleses

January 19, 2011 at 3:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my that is very unfortunate that event happened to you Kyle. But that is just one side, I find that RAMS may has it’s issues but can still be very helpful at times.

    jasparkinson

    January 19, 2011 at 5:49 am

  2. RAMS is a system that seems to get you to where you need to go to but as far as tabs and links go… well it seems like it’s just a mess. Nothing made me more frustrated than the time I was first applying for classes.. I thought I was gonna die because it was so tricky and confusing!

    jprocee

    January 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  3. Ryerson’s website in general is messed up. It is so hard to find anything and one must search it up on google to find their answer.

    I do have to say that even though they are in your shopping cart does not mean that you will get them. My courses were deleted to. I think it happened when Ryerson had switched my visual studies course but I guess it all depends on how often you check RAMSS that insures your place in a class. Its a bummer that you had miss out on some classes though. 😦

    Over all i like RAMSS though the navigational aspect of it all needs a little work.

    Evin Lachance

    January 19, 2011 at 1:25 pm

  4. i totally lost to change my few schedules and liberal studies. I added one class however, it said unknown [error is occurred]….they should re-organize it

    Meerie Park

    January 19, 2011 at 2:05 pm

  5. Yeah I think they need to update the system! It’s so difficult to get your perfect schedule at Ryerson because the classes are always full or there’s a problem with Rams!

    Navdeep Sahota

    January 20, 2011 at 1:33 am


Leave a Reply

