7 Couch Potatoes of New Media

This Blog is Mashing Good Fun!!!

My experience with Adobe Premiere

with 5 comments

I tried to use Adobe Premiere and Adobe Aftereffects to create my one minute video. However there were a lot of obstacles I had to overcome in order to come up with the final product. I pretty much had to switch to a different movie-editing program.   In the beginning, Premiere was quite easy to use because the layout of the interface was organized properly, as well as my background knowledge in using Adobe programs helped. I created my sequence with the help of online tutorials. I was quite surprised at how user friendly it was to use because all the icons were pretty self explanatory.  I also researched the difference between Premiere and After Effects and learned that the workflow is between them is really simple. So, I decided to open up my Premiere file in After Effects. The tutorial simply told me to import the file into the After effects library, and from there you can drag it on to the sequence and you can open the clips on the timeline. The clips wouldn’t  play in real time and none of the effects would apply properly. I tried googling the problem but no solution would come up, so then I decided to apply the effects and colour corrections within Premiere. The next problem I had was that for my export options, it didn’t give me the option to export it as a movie. It would only let me export the audio by itself. There was something wrong with my Premiere because everyone else who had Premiere had the option to export it as a movie. There wasn’t much help available from the help menu either which is why I switched programs. I decided to start my project again in Final Cut Express and I didn’t have any problems in that program. Overall, I had a horrible experience with Adobe Premiere because of its missing functions and the lack of help available to solve certain issues. I will never use Premiere again– atleast the one on my computer!

– Navdeep Sahota

Written by navsahota

January 18, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also prefer Final Cut Pro rather than Premiere. Thats really strange how the program had reacted to what you where doing.

    jasparkinson

    January 18, 2011 at 8:17 pm

  2. I like all of adobe programs however, for me, Adobe Premiere and After Effects are really hard to adapt. Final Cut Pro is easier (wanna get this!). But anyway, i like adobe programs!

    Meerie Park

    January 18, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  3. I haven’t given premiere a chance but seeing from your review I need to do some research on it before I try it for myself. Unfortunately Final Cut it expensive and is an hour away by train (aka the Ryerson campus)

    Good review though Nav you answered a lot of whys

    Evin Lachance

    January 19, 2011 at 12:57 am

  4. I also prefer final cut as well. Darn you adobe for being more convenient! We want final cut!

    jprocee

    January 19, 2011 at 1:15 pm

  5. I’ve been used to using adobe premiere and I haven’t really tried the final cut pro like fully. But I guess its because I’m used to it so I find it a whole lot easier to use

    kylleses

    January 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm


Leave a comment